Factsheet

Factsheet
Drug dosing in overweight children

Drug dosing basing on the body weight

The weight-based dosage data in PEDeDose are based on total body weight and apply to normal-weight children and their age-dependent body composition. The information in PEDeDose does not implicitly apply to physiological states that have changed in this respect, such as those present in overweight, obesity or ascites.

For example, in the case of an overweight child, the dosages presented and calculated may lead to overdose because the increase in body weight is not linear to the ratio of body composition and other factors relevant to drug dosage.

Depending on the physicochemical properties of an active substance (solubility or distribution in fat/water), the pharmacokinetic parameters can change to varying degrees in the case of overweight and thus negatively influence the duration and/or intensity of the effect. The distribution volume and clearance of the active substance are particularly relevant.

For safe and adequate drug therapy in overweight children, other factors must therefore be taken into consideration when determining the dosage.

Drug dosing in overweight children

The determination of a drug dosage in overweight children is very complex and costly. There is still no consensus on the general approach to dose adjustment.

In addition to "total body weight", various other body masses such as "ideal body weight", "lean body weight" or "adjusted body weight" are suggested for estimating the critical pharmacokinetic parameters. Just like the lipophilic or hydrophilic properties of the active substance, the required dose types - loading dose versus maintenance dose - must also be taken into consideration.

Only little concrete information is available for everyday clinical use. Isolated dosage information for overweight patients can be found in the product information for healthcare professionals. Some pharmacokinetic studies on specific active substances are available in the literature. Initial information or recommendations on how to proceed have been published.

In particular, the position paper of the «Pediatric Pharmacy Advocacy Group» [Matson KL et al, 2017] and the overview of the challenges of drug dosage in overweight children [Xiong Y et al, 2017] are helpful for understanding and approaching dose adjustment in overweight children.

As a conclusion for the empirical dosage of drugs in overweight children, it can be stated that both the body composition, the site of action, the dose type, the physicochemical properties of the drug and its pharmacokinetic parameters must be taken into account.

Further studies are required for evidence-based dosing in overweight children

Representation of the body mass index in PEDeDose

In PEDeDose, the body mass index (BMI) is displayed under "Calculated dose" in the list of individual child data. Prerequisite for the calculation and display of the BMI is the entry of height and weight under "Child data". The BMI serves healthcare professionals as an indicator of any changes in physiological conditions.

Representation of the BMI in PEDeDose

Figure: Representation of the body mass index (BMI) in PEDeDose in the tab "Calculated dose".

Literature

Anderson BJ et al. What is the best size predictor for dose in the obese child? Pediatric Anesthesia 2017; 27: 1176-1184 (PMID: 29076211).

Callaghan LC. Prescribing in paediatric obesity: methods to improve dosing safety in weight-based dose calculations. Arch Dis Child Educ Pract 2018; 103(5): 274-277 (PMID: 29374622).

Harskamp-van Ginkel MW et al. Drug dosing in obese children: a systematic review of current pharmacokinetic data. JAMA Pediatr 2015; 169(7): 678-685 (PMID: 25961828).

Jenni O et al. Wachstumskurven, empfohlen von der Schweizerischen Gesellschaft für Pädiatrie. Swiss Society of Paediatrics 2011.

Matson KL et al. Medication dosage in overweight and obese children. J Pediatr Pharmacol Ther 2017; 22(1): 81-83 (PMID: 28337087).

Mulla H et al. Dosing dilemmas in obese children. Arch Dis Child Educ Pract Ed 2010; 95: 112-117 (PMID: 20585055).

Natale S et al. Pediatric obesity: pharmacokinetic alterations and effects on antimicrobial dosing. pharmacotherapy 2017; 37(3):361-378 (PMID: 28079262).

Vaughns JD et al. Obesity and pediatric drug development. The Journal of Clinical Pharmacology 2018; 58(5): 650-661 (PMID: 29350758).

Xiong Y. et al. Drug dosing in obese children. Pediatr Clin N Am 2017; 64: 1417-1438 (PMID: 29173794).

  PEDeDose prints are possible by print screen.

Fiche d'information

Fiche d'information
sur les dosages médicamenteux chez l’enfant en surpoids

Dosages médicamenteux basés sur le poids corporel

Les indications de dosage basées sur le poids dans PEDeDose se rapportent au poids corporel total et s’appliquent pour les enfants de poids normal et leur composition corporelle en fonction de leur âge. Pour les états physiologiques différents, comme par exemple en cas de surpoids, d’obésité ou d’ascite, les indications fournies dans PEDeDose ne s'appliquent pas forcément.

Dans le cas d’un enfant en surpoids par exemple, les dosages représentés et calculés peuvent entraîner un surdosage, car l’augmentation du poids corporel n’est pas en relation linéaire avec la composition corporelle et d’autres facteurs critiques pour le dosage médicamenteux.

Selon les propriétés physico-chimiques d’une substance active (solubilité ou dispersion dans les lipides/l’eau), les paramètres pharmacocinétiques peuvent diversement varier en cas de surpoids, et donc avoir une influence négative sur la durée et/ou l’intensité de l’effet. Les propriétés les plus importantes sont le volume de distribution et la clairance de la substance active.

Pour un traitement médicamenteux sûr et adapté, il est donc impératif chez l’enfant en surpoids de prendre en compte d’autres facteurs pour déterminer le dosage.

Dosages médicamenteux chez l’enfant en surpoids

La détermination d’un dosage médicamenteux chez l’enfant en surpoids est très complexe et demande beaucoup d’attention. Il n’existe pas encore de consensus préconisant une approche globale pour l’ajustement du dosage.

D’autres mesures de la taille corporelle sont proposées pour l’estimation des paramètres pharmacocinétiques critiques, en plus du «poids corporel total», comme par exemple le «poids corporel idéal», le «poids corporel maigre» ou le «poids corporel ajusté». En plus des propriétés lipophiles ou hydrophiles de la substance active, il est tout aussi important de prendre en compte les types de dosages nécessaires (dose de charge ou dose de maintenance).

Il existe à l’heure actuelle très peu d’informations concrètes pour l'approche clinique au jour le jour. L’information professionnelle sur le médicament cite des informations sporadiques sur le dosage pour les patients en surpoids. Quelques études pharmacocinétiques portant sur des substances actives données sont disponibles dans la littérature. Les premières données ou recommandations relatives aux procédures à observer ont été publiées.

Le document de prise de position du «Pediatric Pharmacy Advocacy Group» [Matson KL et al, 2017] ainsi que la synopsis sur les difficultés liées au dosage médicamenteux chez l’enfant en surpoids [Xiong Y et al, 2017] sont particulièrement utiles pour la compréhension et l’application de l’ajustement des doses chez l’enfant en surpoids.

Le bilan du dosage empirique des médicaments chez l’enfant en surpoids permet de constater qu’il est impératif de prendre en compte aussi bien la composition corporelle, le site d’action, le type de dosage, les propriétés physico-chimiques du médicament, ainsi que ses paramètres pharmacocinétiques.

D’autres études seront nécessaires pour parvenir à un dosage basé sur des données factuelles chez l'enfant en surpoids.

Représentation de l’indice de masse corporelle dans PEDeDose

L’indice de masse corporelle (IMC) est représenté dans la liste des données individuelles de l’enfant à la rubrique «Posologie calculée» de PEDeDose. La saisie de la taille et du poids dans les données relatives à l’enfant est impérative pour le calcul et l’affichage de l’IMC. L’IMC est utilisé par le professionnel de la santé comme un indicateur en cas de changements de la situation physiologique.

Représentation de l’IMC dans PEDeDose

Schéma : Représentation de l’indice de masse corporelle (IMC) dans PEDeDose à la rubrique «Posologie calculée».

Référence

Anderson BJ et al. What is the best size predictor for dose in the obese child? Pediatric Anesthesia 2017; 27: 1176-1184 (PMID: 29076211).

Callaghan LC. Prescribing in paediatric obesity: methods to improve dosing safety in weight-based dose calculations. Arch Dis Child Educ Pract 2018; 103(5): 274-277 (PMID: 29374622).

Harskamp-van Ginkel MW et al. Drug dosing in obese children: a systematic review of current pharmacokinetic data. JAMA Pediatr 2015; 169(7): 678-685 (PMID: 25961828).

Jenni O et al. Wachstumskurven, empfohlen von der Schweizerischen Gesellschaft für Pädiatrie. Swiss Society of Paediatrics 2011.

Matson KL et al. Medication dosage in overweight and obese children. J Pediatr Pharmacol Ther 2017; 22(1): 81-83 (PMID: 28337087).

Mulla H et al. Dosing dilemmas in obese children. Arch Dis Child Educ Pract Ed 2010; 95: 112-117 (PMID: 20585055).

Natale S et al. Pediatric obesity: pharmacokinetic alterations and effects on antimicrobial dosing. pharmacotherapy 2017; 37(3):361-378 (PMID: 28079262).

Vaughns JD et al. Obesity and pediatric drug development. The Journal of Clinical Pharmacology 2018; 58(5): 650-661 (PMID: 29350758).

Xiong Y. et al. Drug dosing in obese children. Pediatr Clin N Am 2017; 64: 1417-1438 (PMID: 29173794).

  Imprimer de PEDeDose est possible via print screen.